Monday, September 16, 2013

Think Tankers Knock Out Summers for Fed?

The Institute for Women's Policy Research (IWPR), a think tank dedicated to women's issues, has facilitated the collection of 450+ signatures calling for support of Janet Yellen to be the next Chairman of the Federal Reserve.

A variety of think tankers have signed the letter, including:
  • Heidi Hartmann, President of Institute for Women's Policy Research
  • Alice Rivlin, Senior Fellow, Brookings Institution
  • Dean Baker, Co-Director, Center for Economic Policy Research (CEPR)
  • Eileen Appelbaum, Senior Economist, CEPR
  • John Schmitt, Senior Economist, CEPR
  • Michael Goldberg, Senior Research Associate, Institute for New Economic Thinking (INET)
  • Thomas Hungerford, Senior Economist and Director of Tax and Budget Policy, Economic Policy Institute (EPI)
  • Monique Morrissey, Economist, EPI
  • Heidi Shierholz, Economist, EPI
  • Lawrence Mishel, President, EPI
  • Stephen Oliner, Resident Scholar, American Enterprise Institute (AEI)
  • Josh Bivens, Research and Policy Director, EPI

Yesterday (September 15) Larry Summers, who was reportedly the front-runner for the job, withdrew his name from consideration to be the next Federal Reserve Chairman.

IWPR was co-founded by Heidi Hartmann in 1987 and is based in Washington, DC.